Double Commander

2.7. Synchronize directories

Content

1. Introduction
2. Directory synchronization tool window
3. Commands
4. Additional settings

1. Introduction

The directory synchronization tool scans the directories of the left and right file panels, displays differences in their contents and allows to make them the same.

We can synchronize two local directories or a local directory and a directory on a virtual file system (an open archive or a directory in a file system plugin).

By default, the synchronization tool compares files by name, size and modification date.

The method of deleting files (to trash (recycle bin) or permanently) depends on the state of the Delete to recycle bin (Shift key reverses this setting) option.

2. Directory synchronization tool window

Directory synchronization tool

In the top of the window there are fields with the current directories of the left and right file panels. We can change them manually or by using the button to choose a directory.

Between them there is a field for filtering files by mask (symbol "*" means match any number of characters, symbol "?" means any one character). Files that do not match the mask will be ignored. We may put multiple file types here using a semicolon ";" without spaces between them. Also we can use search templates (Template...), including search with content plugins. The default value is "*" (all files).

The button with an arrow opens the list of the used file masks. By default, Double Commander saves (regardless of the state of the File mask history option) the last used file mask as the default mask for the next run of the synchronization tool (if it is not a search template), see Additional settings.

To exclude directories and symbolic links to directories, we can use the search template and the Exclude subdirectories field.

Compare – starts comparing the chosen directories. If necessary, the operation can be interrupted with the Esc key.

Parameters:

After changing these options, we must run the comparison again.

Show: – A group of buttons that enables or disables the display of various groups of files in the list:

Below is an area divided into three parts:

The status bar displays the overall result of the comparison.

After the comparison is finished, the synchronization tool will display the contents of the directories using several colors:

Synchronization tool: comparison

We can change these colors, as well as the background colors of the selected items, in the Colors settings section (the Synchronize Directories category).

Designations in the "<=>" column:

Using the mouse (in the "<=>" column) or the Space key, we can change the action or uncheck the action and exclude files from the synchronization operation. The corresponding commands are also available, see below.

Several files can be selected using the mouse click while holding down the Ctrl or Shift key; moving the mouse while holding down the left key also allows to select a group of files. Additionally, right‑click on the row with the subdirectory name will select all files in that directory.(Alpha version)

Double mouse clicking on a file name calls the Compare by Contents command.

Using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+C, we can copy the contents of all columns to the clipboard.

Close – closes the synchronization tool.

Synchronize – opens a dialog window for confirming the synchronization, the window displays some details about the upcoming actions:

Synchronization tool: confirmation

Here we can exclude the scheduled operations by type (copying or deleting) or direction.

Left: Delete all empty directories and Right: Delete all empty directories(Alpha version) – After the synchronization is complete, Double Commander will also delete directories that became empty during the synchronization process or were empty before its launch.

Confirm overwrites – In case of a name collision, Double Commander will use the same dialog box with a choice of actions (skip, rename and others) as for usual copying/moving files.

Verify(Alpha version) – If enabled, Double Commander will verify the success of the copying operationssee more details here.

3. Commands

Commands are applied to the file under the cursor or to selected files. All commands available in the synchronization tool have been added to the right mouse button menu. We can assign or change hotkeys for this commands in the Keys > Hot Keys settings section (switch to the Synchronize Directories category).

When the menu is opened, unsuitable items will be automatically marked as unavailable.(Alpha version)

The last three commands delete the selected files immediately, before the synchronization operation. In this case, Double Commander will show a confirmation request. If the empty directories option is not checked, the selected subdirectories will not be deleted when deleting the selected files (even if we will explicitly select those directories).(Alpha version)

Note: The hotkeys for the commands View left, View right and Compare are set in the source code of Double Commander and cannot be changed.

4. Additional settings

There are several parameters available that can only be changed manually in the doublecmd.xml configuration file: <Asymmetric>, <DateTimeFormat>, <FileMask>, <NtfsHourTimeDelay>.


Valid HTML 4.0 Transitional CSS Valid!